The first stage of the McDonald’s Drone Challenge is complete, and after a monthlong battle, eight drone pilots have stamped their ticket to the upcoming Drone Prix Liechtenstein.

There in Vaduz, they will face even bigger challenges, as they square off against each other for the chance to race as official members of the McDonald’s Drone Team wildcard entry. Only four can qualify to fly against the world’s best professional teams at the home race of the Drone Champions League on Friday and Saturday, 18-19 October.

During the window of 28 August to 27 September, DCL hopefuls across Liechtenstein and Switzerland got themselves a “Wildcard Challenge” code from McDonald’s that enabled them to compete in the Challenge by playing DCL – The Game. The eight pilots who prevailed with the fastest times are:

  • Joshua Baeriswyl
  • Raphael Straehl
  • Michael Oppliger
  • Pascal Luginbuehl
  • Serafin Straehl
  • Yanick Glauser
  • Jonas Bouchraiet
  • Michael Isler

Before Friday evening’s main race in Vaduz, all eight will fly the practice rounds. Then they’ll compete in a knock-out on the big stage to determine the four pilots who will fly in the main events as bona fide DCL pilots.

Five of the eight McDonald’s Challenge winners have been in this situation before: Glauser, Bouchraiet, Isler, Raphael Straehl and Serafin Straehl made the top eight in the McDonald’s Drone Challenge ahead of the 2019 season opener, the Drone Grand Prix Laax in Switzerland. At that event, the four members of the McDonald’s wildcard team shocked the field, making the Semi-Finals on both days.

Who will make the McDonald’s team for 18-19 October? And together, can the four wildcards play the spoiler against the championship contenders in the penultimate race of the DCL season? Follow our InstagramYouTube and Facebook channels to find out!

Drone Prix Liechtenstein Online Qualification Results

Related articles